Boundary Change Improvement

Revised proposals for new Parliamentary constituencies for Bexley published by the Boundary Constituency this week more closely reflect local community ties according to James Brokenshire.  The Commission’s updated plans would mean changes to the current electoral boundaries but unlike previous proposals wouldn’t split Bexleyheath, Welling and Crayford between constituencies.

Under the new boundaries suggested by the Commission Bexley would have two revised constituencies replacing the existing Bexleyheath & Crayford, Erith and Old Bexley & Sidcup constituencies:

  • Bexleyheath and Erith - comprising the wards of Belvedere, Erith, Northumberland Heath, Colyers, North End, Christchurch, Barnehurst, Crayford and St Mary’s (Bexley Village); and
  • Sidcup and Welling - comprising the wards of East Wickham, St Michael’s, Falconwood & Welling, Danson Park, Blackfen & Lamorbey, Blendon & Penhill, Longlands, Sidcup and Cray Meadows.

Maps for the two new constituencies can be found at:

The Bexley wards of Lesnes Abbey and Thamesmead East would form part of a new Thamesmead and Plumstead Constituency.  The revised plans will now be subject to a further eight week consultation period before the Boundary Commission release their final proposals. 

Commenting James Brokenshire said:

"The Boundary Commission have recognised the important points we made in the original public consultation about not splitting communities across constituencies. The proposed new boundaries would mean that Welling would have one MP which is a very welcome change.  Overall, the revised proposals offer significant improvements to the initial plans."